Introductions

It was the first day visiting the garden for me, so there were a lot of new things to look out for. A lot of progress was made with clearing up two plots and planting some garlic, collard greens, and kale. We interspersed the plants with the bulbs of garlic…apparently garlic is not attacked by pests and can protect the other plants from harmful insects as well, which is pretty cool. Hopefully they’ll grow easily and we can probably continue growing them year-round because of the mild climate. Actually getting to the garden and trying to figure out the technicalities of making things grow is a pretty eye-opening experience.

Meeting the kids is so much fun! I’m still getting to know their names and everything but they’re already really open and friendly about meeting me. One girl came up to me and told me I would be her “garden mom”. I’m not sure what that means, but I’m still flattered.

Until next week,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

